If you’re part of my family you love the kind of spicy that makes you sweat bullets down your tomato red face while steam shoots out your ears.  Okay so this dish isn’t quite that hot but it’s quick, easy to make with food you probably already have in freezer and pantry, has a good kick, and great flavor.

I’ve been extremely busy lately so I haven’t had much time to plan meals or hit the grocery.   As a result, I’ve been eating out WAY too much so I made a commitment to fix something for dinner at home last Thursday.  I came home from work, thawed out a couple of frozen chicken breasts, scoured the pantry for anything edible, and pulled out a few cans and an onion from my trip to Vidalia.  I wasn’t sure what  I was going to come up with but ended up with what will probably become a staple at my house.   As Dad would say, “Well, Magoo, we’ve done it again.”

Spicy Southwest Chicken Over Rice

*This dish WILL clean out your sinuses.  If you want to tone it down a little, cut out part or all of the peppers in adobo sauce.  (The peppers are hot, the sauce is sweet.  Delicious!)

Ingredients

  • 1 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1/4 diced onion
  • 2 whole chicken breasts, sliced
  • 1 14.5 oz can Red Gold fiesta tomatoes
  • 1 14.5 oz can black beans, drained
  • 1 11 oz can Mexi-corn, drained
  • 1 7 oz can chipotle peppers in adobo sauce, chopped
  • Rice
  • Sour Cream

Directions

  1. Saute onions in oil in a large skillet over medium heat until translucent. Next, add the chicken to the skillet. Once the chicken is browned but not cooked entirely through, add the tomatoes, beans, corn, and chipotle peppers with the adobo sauce. Stir. Cover and cook over medium heat for 30-45 minutes or until chicken is cooked through. Serve over rice with a dollop of sour cream on top.
