Wind River Mountain Range, Wyoming
July 23, 2001

For as long as I can remember I’ve been driven by an unquenchable desire to learn more, see more, and experience everything that the world has to offer.  Knowing that I will miss something can become overwhelming.  There aren’t enough hours in the day or years in a life to learn all there is to learn or see all there is to see.  My interests are so varied that I often experience little bits of this and little bits of that but never become an expert of anything.  I fear that I will become a jack of all trades, master of none.  But how does a person choose just one interest to focus all of their time and energy on? Time is so precious and I know that I will only be able to accomplish a small portion of my desires in my lifetime. I want to become a better sewer, learn to knit, write a book, hike the Appalachian Trail, complete a Triathlon, read more stories, hear more music, see more of the world, have more meaningful conversations with my friends, bake more cookies, learn to golf, and so much more.  The world has so much to offer and we have so little time to explore it.

Maybe my happiness does not lie in my ability to become a master of something but by having the opportunity to learn and experience a little bit of everything.  This might mean that I will lead a life of mediocrity by society’s standards but it does not mean that my life will not be full and without meaning.

“A man who dares to waste one hour of time has not discovered the value of life.” – Charles Darwin

